Club

History

Astana Basketball Club is founded in March 2011 sponsored by Sovereign Wealth Fund Samruk-Kazyna. In 2013 Astana BC joined Astana Presidential Professional Sport Club. In 2016 Astana Basketball Club was renamed, and now the capital club is proudly called Astana Presidential Basketball Club.

The coaching staff was headed by the best professionals in this field:
  1. In 2011 till 2013 Matteo Boniciolli, who was honored with the title of the Best Coach in his native Italy, held the position of the head coach. The same year Italian coach won Eurochallenge with Avellino team, and in 2010 Lottomatika Roma under his guidance entered top 16 of EuroLeague.
  2. In season 2013/2014 Serbian Alexandar Trifunovic headed the team and led it to absolute winners of Kazakhstan National Championship. He stabilized Astana position in a ranking  table and put the team to playoff of VTB United League.
  3. From 2014 to 2015 Lithuanian specialist Ramunas Butautas led the team. A famous European professional headed the Lithuanian National Men Team from 2007 to 2010, where among his achievements were Eurobasket bronze medal and trip to Beijing Olympiad, where the team took honorable forth place.
  4. In a season 2015/2016 a professional coach Ellias Papatheodoru from Greece takes on a job of the head coach of Astana team. An ambitious coach has a large experience with the young teams, leading Greek Youth Team U20.
In 2014 Astana took part in European club competitions  such as FIBA Eurochallenge finishing its performance on Top 16 in a step from quarterfinals.

Achievements of Astana Basketball Team:
  • Five-times Champion of Kazakhstan Cup — 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017
  • Five-times  Champion of National Lague of Kazakhstan — 2011/2012, 2012/2013, 2013/2014, 2014/2015, 2016/2017
  • Silver medalist of National League of Kazakhstan — 2015/2016
  • Bronze medalist of FIBA Asia Champions Cup — 2017
  • 7th place in a group United VTB League (season 2011/12)
  • 5th place in a group Playoff of United VTB League (season 2012/13)
  • 5th place in a group Playoff of United VTB League (season 2013/14)
  • 8th place 5th place. Playoff of United VTB League (season 2014/15)

In  the United VTB League Championship Astana made  numerous sensations during six seasons winning on its home court such grands of European basketball as Lithuanian Zhalgiris and Letuvos Ritas, Ukrainian Budivelnik, Donetsk, Azaovmash, Estonian Kalev, Latvian VEF, Russian Nizhniy Novgorod, Krasniye Krylya, Khimki, Avtodor.

The results achieved by the team cannot leave the fans and officals of Kazakh basketball indifferent. For such a short period of time these results can be valued as good indeed, but the club is going to pursue its goals further.

Players of Astana won numerous titles in the leagues they played:
  • Jerry Johnson has a title of the best pointguard of Kazakhstan Cup in 2012,2014 and 2015, as well as of Championship of Republic of Kazakhstan in seasons 2011/2012, 2013/2014
  • Rustam Ergaliev is the best shooting guard of Kazakhstan Cup in 2012.
  • Rashid Mahalbasic is the best center of Kazakhstan Cup in 2015 and in the Championship of Republic of Kazakhstan in season 2014/2015.
  • Anton Ponomarev is the best power forward of Kazakhstan Cup in 2013 and the best Kazakh player of 2012/2013 in United VTB League.
  • Patrick Calathes is the best forward of Kazakhstan Cup in 2014. 
  • Anatoliy Kolesnikov is the best Kazakh player of 2014/2015 season in United VTB League.

In upcoming seasons Astana will please the fans with its new spectacular and bright victories.

Клуб

История клуба

Баскетбольный клуб «Астана» создан в марте 2011 года при поддержке Фонда национального благосостояния «Самрук-Казына». В 2013 году БК «Астана» вошел в состав «Президентского профессионального спортивного клуба «Астана». В 2016 году, баскетбольный клуб «Астана» был переименован, сейчас столичный клуб носит гордое название Президентского Баскетбольного Клуба «Астана».
 
Возглавляли тренерский штаб  в разные годы, лучшие специалисты в этой области:
  1. В 2011−2013 гг. главным тренером был итальянец  Маттео Боничиолли, который в 2008 году был признан «Тренером года» в Италии. В этом же году  итальянский тренер выиграл кубок «Еврочеленджер» с клубом «Авеллино», а клуб «Лоттоматика Рома» под его руководством в 2010 году вышел в топ−16 Евролиги.
  2. Сезон 2013/2014 команду возглавил сербский специалист Александар Трифунович, который привел команду  к абсолютному чемпионству национального чемпионата Казахстана. А также стабилизировал положение «Астаны» в турнирной таблице и вывел команду в плей-офф Единой Лиги ВТБ.
  3. С февраля  2014 года по 2015 год   команду тренировал литовский специалист Рамунас Бутаутас. Известный специалист в Европе, который с  2007−2010 возглавлял национальную мужскую сборную Литвы, бронзовые призеры Евробаскета и путевка на Пекинскую Олимпиаду, где заняли почетное 4 место.
  4. Сезон 2015/2016 год столичный клуб возглавил специалист из Греции, Илиас Папатеодору.  Амбициозный тренер, который имеет большой опыт работы с молодыми командами, возглавлял  молодежную  сборную Греции U20.

В 2014 году «Астана» впервые приняла участие в европейских клубных соревнованиях – Кубке вызова ФИБА, завершив выступление на стадии «Топ 16», в шаге от четвертьфинала.
 
Достижения БК «Астана»:
  • Пятикратный Обладатель Кубка Казахстана — 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017
  • Пятикратный Чемпион Национальной Лиги РК — 2011/2012, 2012/2013, 2013/2014, 2014/2015, 2016/2017
  • Серебрянный призер чемпионата Национальной лиги РК — 2015/2016
  • 7 место Единая Лига ВТБ (сезон 2011/12)
  • 5 место Выход в плей-офф Единой Лиги ВТБ (сезон 2012/13)
  • 5 место Выход в плей-офф Единой Лиги ВТБ (сезон 2013/14)
  • 8 место Выход в плей-офф Единой Лиги ВТБ (сезон 2014/15)
 
В чемпионате Единой Лиги ВТБ казахстанский клуб за шесть  сезонов сотворил не одну сенсацию, обыграв на своей площадке таких грандов европейского баскетбола как литовский «Жальгирис» и «Летувос-Ритас», украинский «Будивельник», «Донецк» и «Азовмаш», эстонский «Калев», латышский «ВЭФ», российский «Нижний Новгород», «Красные крылья», «Химки», саратовский «АВтодор».

Такие результаты не могут  не радовать поклонников казахстанского баскетбола, болельщиков и функционеров спорта. За столь короткий срок, результаты весьма хорошие, но на этом клуб не собирается останавливаться.
 
Игроки БК «Астана» не раз становились лучшими в своих лигах:
  • Джерри Джонсон — «Лучший разыгрывающий» Кубка Казахстана 2012, 2014 и 2015 года, а также Чемпионата Республики  Казахстан сезона  2011/2012 и  2013/2014 года.
  • Рустам Яргалиев — «Лучший атакующий защитник» Кубка Казахстана  2012 года.
  • Рашид Махалбашич — «Лучший центровой» Кубка Казахстана 2015 года и Чемпионата Республики Казахстан сезона  2014/2015 года.
  • Антон Пономарев — «Лучший тяжелый форвард» Кубка Казахстана 2013 года а также  «Лучший казахстанский игрок» сезона 2012/13 по признанию Единой Лиги ВТБ.
  • Патрик Калатес — «Лучший форвард» Кубка Казахстана 2014 года.
  • Анатолий Колесников — «Лучший казахстанский игрок» сезона 2014/15 по признанию Единой Лиги ВТБ.

В предстоящих сезонах «Астана» также намерена радовать своих болельщиков новыми, красивыми и яркими победами.